Full list of winners from this year's 2019 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards

Publish Date
Friday, 15 November 2019, 12:09PM
Photo / Supplied - TOPIC

Photo / Supplied - TOPIC

Teenage pop sensation Benee was the big winner at last night's Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards, scooping all four awards she was nominated for.

The 19-year-old Aucklander won best solo artist and single of the year for her platinum debut Soaked. She also claimed best pop artist and breakthrough artist for her latest album Fire on Marzz.

Here is the full list of winners from last night's awards:

  1. Album of the Year | Te Pukaemi o te Tau

    Winner: Avantdale Bowling Club –
    Avantdale Bowling Club
    Aldous Harding – Designer
    The Beths – Future Me Hates Me
    Broods – Don’t Feed The Pop Monster
    Mitch James – Mitch James
    Marlon Williams – Live at Auckland Town Hall

  2. Vodafone Single of the Year | Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau

    Winner: BENEE – ‘Soaked’

    Aldous Harding – ‘The Barrell’
    The Beths – ‘Little Death’
    Church & AP – ‘Ready or Not’
    Drax Project – ‘All This Time’
    Six60 – ‘The Greatest’

  3. Best Group | Te Roopu Toa

    Winner: The Beths – Future Me Hates Me Beastwars - IV

    Broods – Don’t Feed The Pop Monster
    L.A.B. – L.A.B. II

  4. Best Solo Artist | Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa


    Aldous Harding - Designer
    Avantdale Bowling Club – Avantdale Bowling Club
    Mitch James – Mitch James

  5. Smirnoff Pure Potential Breakthrough Artist of the Year | Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau

    Winner: BENEE
    The Beths
    Church & AP

  6. Te Māngai Pāho Best Māori Artist | Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa

    Winner: Troy Kingi

    Louis Baker

  7. Best Pop Artist | Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa

    Winner: BENEE

    Mitch James

  8. Best Alternative Artist | Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa

    Winner: The Beths

    Aldous Harding
    Tiny Ruins

  9. KFC Best Soul/RnB Artist | Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa

    Winner: Bailey Wiley

    Louis Baker

  10. Best Hip Hop Artist | Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa

    Winner: Avantdale Bowling Club

    Church & AP
    Diggy Dupè

  11. Best Roots Artist | Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa

    Winner: Troy Kingi

    Lost Tribe Aotearoa

  12. Best Electronic Artist | Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa

    Winner: TALI

    Pacific Heights
    Sweet Mix Kids

  13. Best Rock Artist | Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa

    Winner: Villainy

  14. Best Worship Artist | Te Kaipuoro Kairangi Toa

    Winner: Harbourside Worship

    Equippers Worship
    Jules Riding

  15. Best Classical Artist | Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa

    Winner: Simon O’Neill & Terence Dennis

    The Linkwood Guitar Duo
    Michael Houstoun & Bella Hristova

  16. Vodafone People’s Choice Award | Te Kōwhiri o te Nuinga

  17. Recorded Music NZ Legacy Award | Tohu Whakareretanga
    Th’ Dudes

  18. Vodafone Highest Selling Artist I Te Toa Hoko Teitei

  19. NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year | Te Rikoata Marakerake o te Tau

  20. Recorded Music NZ International Achievement | Tohu Tutuki o te Ao
    Drax Project

Additional Tuis presented in 2019

  1. Music Teacher of the Year | Kaiārahi Puoro o te Tau
    Winner: Duncan Ferguson – St Andrews College, Christchurch
    Jane Egan – Gisborne Girls High School, Gisborne
    Sue Banham – Rosehill College, Papakura, Auckland

  2. Massey University Best Producer | Te Kaiwhakaputa Toa:
    Winner: Josh Fountain – (Various)
    Simon Gooding, Ji Fraser, Eli Paewai - Mitch James (Mitch James)
    Tom Healy - Olympic Girls (Tiny Ruins)

  3. NZ On Air Best Music Video | Te Puoro Ataata Toa:
    Winner: Vision Thing – ‘Rock Bottom’ (Randa)

    Jason Brock – ‘Feeling Free’ (LEISURE)
    Martin Sagadin and Aldous Harding – ‘The Barrel’ (Aldous Harding)

  4. Best Album Artwork | Te Toi Ataata Pukaemi Toa:
    Winner: Jaime Robertson - A Quiet Divide (Rhian Sheehan)

    Mike Braid - Raised in The Dark (Villainy)
    Tim Harper & Dick Frizzell - Offering (Various Artists)

  5. Best Engineer | Te Kaipukaha Toa:
    Winner: Ben Lawson & Vivek Gabriel - Avantdale Bowling Club (Avantdale Bowling Club)

    Josh Fountain – (Various)
    Simon Gooding - Mitch James (Mitch James)

  6. Best Folk Artist | Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa
    Winner: The Frank Burkitt Band – Raconteur

    Great North – The Golden Age
    Jono Heyes – 9 Pilgrims

  7. Best Pacific Music Album | Te Pukaemi Toa o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa
    Winner: Tomorrow People – BBQ Reggae
    Kings – Lov3 & 3go
    SWIDT – The Most Electrifying

  8. Best Country Artist | Te Kaipuoro Tuawhenua Toa
    Winner: Jenny Mitchell – Wildfires
    Jamie McDell – Extraordinary Girl
    Tami Neilson – Sassafrass!

  9. Best Jazz Artist | Te Kaipuoro Tautito Toa
    Winner: GRG67 – The Thing
    Antipodes – Good Winter
    Dog – No Dogs Allowed

  10. Best Children’s Artist | Te Kaipuoro Waiata Tamariki Toa
    Winner: Craig Smith – Not Just For Kids 2
    Marian Burns – Songs For Kids
    Anna van Riel – Fishing For Stars